About Us

Our Mission

Drive educational excellence by investing in work that enriches the education, development, and wellbeing of every SUSD student. 


Our History

Sunnyside Foundation began in 1991 by SUSD alumni who believed in the transformative power of quality education. For 25+ years, we’ve kept this same focus; investing hundreds of thousands of dollars into exceptional education programs in SUSD. We work with SUSD educators, aligning our investments with district vision to make sure every student is college, career, and community ready. In the past seven years, Sunnyside Foundation has invested $679k into critical education programs across SUSD. We fund four strategic areas: Fine Arts + Music, Literacy (Early Childhood Emphasis), STEM/STEAM, Student Wellness (medical assistance, scholarships, clothing, etc.).

We’ve enhanced our district by supporting  initiatives to provide students with laptops and computer skills knowledge, arts and cultural programming, and post-secondary education opportunities. Projects and programs can include a combination of extracurricular, scholastic, artistic, and athletic components as designed by the schools or teachers receiving funding through the Sunnyside Foundation.

In addition to monetary investments, we provide in-kind support (books, toys, clothing, equipment), mentorship opportunities, and community events for families. Our students have BIG dreams and together we can make those dreams come true!

Help us protect valuable programs in our schools! Invest in Sunnyside Foundation today!


Check donations can be mailed or dropped off at 2238 E. Ginter Rd, Tucson, AZ 85706 please make checks payable to Sunnyside Foundation

Contributions to the Sunnyside Unified School District Foundation are tax-deductible as allowed by law.


Kerri Lopez-Howell, Executive Director


Taunya Villicaña, Board President

Michael Barton, President Elect

Celyna Cervantes, Secretary/ Treasurer

Brenda Granillo, Board Member/ Luncheon Chair

Katrina Armijo, Board Member/Luncheon Co-Chair

Naomi Proaño, Board Member/ Former President/ Luncheon Committee

Eugenia Favela Ph. D. , Board Member/ Luncheon Committee

Carlos Lomeli, Board Member/ Luncheon Committee

Andy Townsend, Board Member/ Luncheon Committee

Patrick Robles, Board Member/ External Affairs Chair

Raûl Aguirre, Board Member/ External Affairs

Larry Martinez, Board Member/ External Affairs

Superintendent Steve Holmes, Honorary Board Member